Why I Made the Switch (Part II)

I knew I had to make a change. I took a leave of absence for three months during which I backpacked in Europe and taught English in China. Wonderful experiences! I had taken the GMAT (business school entrance exam) in the spring and scored in the 99% percentile. I knew I wanted and could do that, but didn’t feel directed enough to enroll right away (maybe in two years?). I considered moving to another position within the company or moving to other companies, but two years is not much time to advance within a company. Why not do my own thing *again*? I say again, because I ran a successful software business in high school. It was a fabulous experience. By being self-employed again I would be able to take on a unique and very rewarding challenge. I would have flexible hours and potentially have time to pursue other interests. And luckily I already have some contacts, a couple of which I had been freelancing for already, to help me get a consulting business rolling. Anyways, if it doesn’t work out, I have some savings and can always get another technical job very quickly.

Leave a Reply

